• Joy-Marie Lawrence
    Joy-Marie Lawrence
  • Ashley Naidoo
    Ashley Naidoo
  • Dr Nozi Mjoli
    Dr Nozi Mjoli
  • Eugene Jansen
    Eugene Jansen
  • Gabo Esther Khambule
    Gabo Esther Kambule
  • Johan Prinsloo
    Johan Prinsloo
  • Matsie Matooane
    Matsie Matooane
  • Marius 1
    Marius Rezelman
  • Muso Riba
    Mmuso Riba
  • Prof Bharuthram Ramashwar
    Prof Bharuthram Ramashwar
  • Mbali Mfeka
    Mbali Mfeka
  • Potlaki Maine
    Potlaki Maine
  • Vincent Gore
    Vincent Gore
  • Simphiwe Hamilton
    Simphiwe Hamilton
  • Willie van Biljon
    Willie van Biljon

Ms Joy-Marie Lawrence (Board Chairperson) is a lawyer with a Masters in Space Law and an Executive MBA. She has been active in the Information Communications and Technology (ICT) sector in South Africa. She is currently regional executive at EOH Cape Town responsible for strategy, stakeholder engagement, and business development. She has held various positions in the Information, Communications and Technology (ICT) sector including Commercial Legal Advisor at MTN Group (Pty) Ltd, Senior Legal Advisor at the SABC and General Manager of the Western Cape region of Business Connexion (Pty) Ltd.

Mr Vincent Gore is an electrical engineer and heads up a number of successful start-up companies in the telecommunications and transport sectors in South Africa. He established his own business in 2009, after ten years as a politician. He was the youngest Member of Parliament in the new dispensation and served on 10 committees, including transport, communications and science and technology.

Mr Marius Rezelman holds a B.Com Honours and is the Managing Director of PSP ICON, a business strategy consulting company. He has vast experience in designing and implementing strategic frameworks and systems for large companies and institutions. he also led numerous planning and consulting assignments within the fields of transport, energy, tourism, health and economic development.

Johan Prinsloo
Johan is a telecommunication systems engineer, focused on the commercial satellite industry. He has been instrumental in implementing satellite and other communication systems as diverse as banking, military, ship-to-shore mining, election and rural cellular networks, and has a passion for empowering Africa through the advancement, development & application of satellite and telecommunications technology.

Professor Ramesh Bharuthram
Prof Bharuthram was appointed Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) at the University of Western Cape in January 2008. He obtained his PhD in Theoretical Plasma Physics from the University of Natal in 1980. He has served tertiary education in South Africa for 45 years in several capacities - 29 years at the University of Durban-Westville from Laboratory Assistant to Head of the School of Physics, Dean of the Faculty of Science and Acting Deputy Vice Chancellor; as Director: Research at the M L Sultan Technikon (1998 – 2002) and the University of KwaZulu–Natal (2002 – 2005). The previous position he held was Dean of the Faculty of Science at the University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg (2006-07). He has served on several national panels for the NRF, Department of Science & Technology (DST) and the Department of Higher Education & Training.

Simphiwe Hamilton
A Nelson Mandela Scholar, Simphiwe's defence career commenced in the SA Air Force in 1994. He has studied for a Masters in Defence Administration (Cranfield University, UK - 2004) and also holds an Honours degree in Politics and a Batchelor of Military Science (Stellenbosch University –1998 & 1999). Simphiwe has been in the SA Defence Industries in various roles including being the Marketing and Business Development for the REUTECH group of companies, a stint as an Operations Manager in F&R Diesel Services cc., being the Technical Coordinator in Defencetek's Landwards Programme (now called DPSS for Defence, Peace & Security Systems) as well as being a defence analyst / consultant and project manager in Armscor's Defence Research Centre. Currently engaged as the Executive Director for the SA Aerospace, Maritime and Defence Industries Association

Ashley Naidoo
Ashley Naidoo is currently the Chief Director managing Oceans and Coastal Research within the National Department of Environmental Affairs. The Chief Directorate is the research component of the Branch: Oceans and Coasts. The Branch exists to improve understanding and management of marine ecosystems. Previous to his role in Environmental Affairs, Ashley held positions in the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), primarily in the applied marine sciences. Ashley Naidoo's graduate and post-graduate training is in marine biological sciences. During the time with the Board, Ashley would like to build the space and ocean science relationships.

WJ van Biljon
Willie is an aeronautical engineer who graduated from the University of Pretoria in 1976 and spent most of his career contributing to the establishment of the South African aerospace and defence industry. Over a period of four decades, he participated in most of the national aerospace programmes, including development and production of military aircraft, space vehicles, unmanned aircraft and guided weapon systems. He is currently responsible for international business development within the Paramount Group and he is a fellow of the South African Academy of Engineering (SAAE).



Dont' miss the latest SANSA updates! FacebookTwitterYoutube