SANSA actively involved in supporting floods disaster planning and awareness

SANSA is working together with the National Disaster Management Center (NDMC), an entity of the Department of Local Government and Cooperative Governance, in a campaign aimed to create disaster awareness in the five district municipalities; Capricorn District in Limpopo province, Dr Kennet Kaunda District in North West, Alfred Nzo District in Eastern Cape, Ehlanzeni District in Mpumalanga, and Namakwa District in Northern Cape.

image-of-the-week-2018-02-05-World wetlands day

World wetlands day

The Rietvlei Nature reserve is situated 18km from the center of Pretoria and it is 3800 hectares in size. Rietvlei nature reserve was established as a result of the Water Scheme to provide drinking water to the people of Pretoria and it was declared Rietvlei Nature reserve in 1997.

Image downloaded: 01 March 2016.

Image credits:

Produced by SANSA Earth Observation, January 2018.

SPOT6: Airbus Defence & Space.

Creating a platform for open innovation to source business ideas and solutions in a safe and low risk manner

On Friday, 26 January, the South African National Space Agency (SANSA), Airbus Defence and Space, Technology Innovation Agency (TIA), and The Innovation Hub Management Company (TIH), hosted a Wold Café networking event at the Tshimologong Innovation Precinct in Johannesburg.

The World Café (open innovation) is a group interaction method focused on creative conversations, leading collaborative dialogue, sharing knowledge and creating possibilities for action. The event was a culmination of a project launched in 2017, which had been aimed at developing and supporting home-grown and novel applications for earth observation data obtained by satellites.

Image of the week 2018-01-24 Solar Energy Project in the Northern Cape Province

Solar Energy Project in the Northern Cape Province

SANSA 2016 SPOT 6/7 national mosaic.

Since 2008 South Africa has been active in looking for potential sources of alternative energy and promoting the use of clean renewable energy in order to meet the country’s critical electricity needs and a target of installing 18 gigawatts of renewable energy capacity by 2030. The Department of Energy ( introduced the largest solar projects in 2012.

Jasper Power projects was awarded a preferred bidder status and construction started in October 2013 and began full commercialization a year later.

The project stimulated long-term economic development and created new jobs. So far the project produces 180,000 megawatts hours of energy annually for South African residences and is powering approximately 80,000 homes.

image-of-the-week-2018-01-17–Theewaterskloof Dam

Theewaterskloof Dam in the Western Cape Province

Landsat8 imageries of Theewaterkloof dam, Western Cape. The earlier imagery was acquired on 25 April 2014 and the second image acquired on 19 April 2017.

Theewaterkloof dam is the largest of the 6 major dams in the Western Cape Province with capacity of 480 406 000 cubic metres of water. It stores about 41% of the water stored for Cape Town city council. This dam is located on the Sonderend River near Villiersdrop, Western Cape province in South Africa. It was established in 1978 and formed a major component of the Western Cape water supply.

The Western Cape has received 30% less rainfall in winter last year about 35% compared to 62% of the year 2016. Theewaterkloof dam was 18.1% full on the 1st of January 2018 compares to the 13.3 % on 5 June 2017.

Image credits:
Landsat 8. USGS. All rights reserved.

Dont' miss the latest SANSA updates! FacebookTwitterYoutube